According to saxophonist and composer Rocco John Iacovone, “EMBRACE THE CHANGE is a thought, an idea, and a philosophy.  It’s a comment on our evolution as human beings. It seems the only constant we experience is change and we constantly need to learn how to deal with it. To do this, we have to dig deep. These were the thoughts behind the compositions as I wrote them, and as we went into the studio.”

Rocco John Iacovone’s studies with the legendary Lee Konitz and Sam Rivers as well as studies in composition under the direct disciples of Nadia Boulanger gives him a wide swath of musicial influences that color each track of EMBRACE THE CHANGE. His stellar quartet gets deep into the leader’s music, designed to elicit unmitigated passion and creativity from Rich Rosenthal, François Grillot and Tom Cabrera.

Rocco describes each album track in the liner notes:

WINGS   (7:21) – A free bop piece to free up our thoughts.
CIRCUITS   (8:08) – However remote or even impossible it may seem, we are all connected.
ESCAPE   (8:39) – The traps are all set up, wherever we turn. We need to escape the traps and think
independently and creatively.
DIAL UP   (8:00) – This represents calling for assistance from the universe.
TANGO   (9:52) – The dance of life.
WHISPERS   (4:32) – While we all hear the loud voices telling us what to do and how to do it, we
really need to quiet down and listen to the whispers of our inner self.
72’s   (10:56) – Connection to the Endless.
Wings (Epilogue) (7:51) – The Joy of it all.

ROCCO JOHN IACOVONE alto and soprano saxophones

All music by Rocco John Iacovone

Recorded March, 2015 and mixed at Urban Sound Studios, Riverdale, NJ by Todd Urban
Mastered at Beanstudio, Wayne, NJ by Jim DeSalvo
Cover painting by Denise Iacovone
Design by Qua’s Eye Graphix

Produced by Jack DeSalvo